For students that are about to graduate, it is better for them to finish an intensive research project on an interesting topic and then write a paper on this topic or to finish an internship which can let students learn some business skills.

University isn't a fresh word for human beings in this era, and there are always differences about the higher education between western countries and eastern countries, especially lie in the last year in university. And with the globalization, a new debate emerged: which is more appropriate for last-year students, finishing a research with interesting topic or finishing an internship? Frankly speaking, I strong believe that it's a wise way for students who are going to step into the society to join in internships.

First off, practical experience is necessary for certain majors, so it's imperative to finish an internship. To be specific, there are majors place more value into internship experience, as those majors value student's ability of applying what they learned into practice. In a way, the internship is the most efficient way to examine your occupational ability. In western educational system, they called this internship education, which means the practical experience are as important as the theoretical knowledge. Business courses is a typical major that value internship a lot. No mater you specialize in what courses, marketing and management, human resource management or hotel management, all the undergraduate courses associated with business carried the internship year. According to the official statistics, over 90 percent of the UK universities have established the internship program, those universities cooperate with several corresponding companies in order to provide their students with the opportunities of practicing. Hence, this fact revealed that how much value put on the internship, as it's the best way to apply the knowledge in the textbooks into the practice.

Equally significant, an internship brings students about a more promising career, especially those who are going to step into the society. To illustrate, owing to the high-quality internship, undergraduates possess great many practical skills, and eventually receiving dream offers. An internship is the real work place with fierce competition. Beyond the campus, students are required to learn much more skills more than they thought, like social skills, cooperative skills, self-management abilities etc. Fortunately, all those skills can be learned and practiced in the internship. So, with the practical experience accumulated during the internship, students not only enrich their resumes, but also be more confident to their future development. Besides, a great many companies take the internship experience into consideration as they recruit new members. In that case, those students will take advantage of the internship, saying that compared with other candidates without internship experience, they are more competitive and are likely to be competent to the opening positions. Thus, there are greater possibilities of receive offers from their dream employers left for him.

However, I'm not totally denying the accessibility of finishing a research project on an interesting topic and then write a paper. Beyond doubt, writing papers is a good way to practice student's integrated abilities, the combination of academic skills, writing skills and the patient of taking research, particularly for those who are pursuing advanced studies in certain domains. Whereas the great majority are striving for mundane life styles, they somehow will step into the society, and writing a paper for most undergraduate is a waste of time and energy. In light of this, it might be more advisable for last-year students to finish an internship.

In a nutshell, according to what I've mentioned above, it is reasonable to do a research and writing a paper make a sense for few students who are pursuing academic development. However, as the main trend of upcoming graduates is stepping into the society and regarding to their career development, the minority is supposed to subordinate to the majority: most students are supposed to participate in internships.