Some people think university students should be taught in small class (which means professor knows the names of his/her students), others think large classes with more students are better. Which one do you think is better?

Generally speaking, each students possesses their personal preference about the types of class. Some of them are inclined to have small classes to obtain more attention from professor, whereas others tend to be taught in large classes with the aspiration of less pressure of school work. With my own experience, I prefer to be taught in small class for following reasons.

First off, smaller class promote me to make more progress in academic study and lead to promising future. Specifically speaking, smaller size of class render all students to gain attention from professors equally. Hence, with more supervision and instruction form professor, students possess more opportunity to correct their errors, perfect their assignments and ask questions, eventually students are likely to gain higher grades as they graduated. Without doubt, brilliant academic performance lead to more promising future. Similarly, the common phenomenon responds the fact: compared with students who are taught in larger classes, students studied in smaller classes are likely to submit better quality of essays and assignments. That is because students’ academic behaviors are strongly associated with professors' care, the more attention professors paid, the better students' academic performance presented. In the long run, perfect academic performance allow one to build solid foundation of professional knowledge and to possess the strong stepping stone for his career development.

In addition to the importance of academic development, smaller classes are the appropriate places for students to develop solid and strong social relationship. It is acknowledged that social circle plays a role in one's career development, and there is no doubt that universities is ideal places to develop social relationship. To illustrate, although larger sizes of classes accommodate more classmates, the relationship isn't strong enough to develop further to the extent that students can keep in touch with each other after stepping into the society. Because students are too many, it is too difficult for students to know each other and to make friends. While smaller sizes of classes do, as it is imperative for students to know each other and develop further relationship driven by some cooperative assignments. Even if students are much less than larger classes have, they do know more about each other and develop stronger friendship.

However, larger size of classes might be more suitable for certain subjects, small classes aren't preferable from time to time. In certain instances, there are selective courses offered to students, obviously those courses are more acceptable to students, especially who are not major in. In that case, smaller classes doesn't necessarily mean that providing small classes isn't reasonable for a university's financial budget balance. Especially regarding to the costs of employing more professors, more basic facilities for teaching.

In a nutshell, based on the arguments explored above, I am of the opinion that in most cases it is more beneficial for most students to take smaller classes as taking one's future development into consideration.