Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

There is no doubt that friends play a pivotal role in any individual's life. They affect people in many ways in each and every state of life. I contend that their influence on students’ life is even greater than that of the teachers. I will explore the reasons why I feel this way through the following paragraphs.

First, students, especially in young ages, emulate what their peers do in order to feel accepted and be able to make friends. They try to follow their friend's style and manner without considering ethics. This is mostly because students fear from being lonely and excluded and they believe acting similar to others will attract more students to them. This blind imitation can have adverse impacts on their personality and may put them into serious troubles, such as drug addiction. However, a professional teacher, who is well aware of these desires could prevent that and encourage students to care about moral values. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in high school, most of my peers regarded studying as an embarrassing thing to do. They did not study at all and humiliated whoever studied. I was a hardworking student at first, but after being teased by them I became disappointed. One of my teachers noticed the change in my scores and talked to me. She reminded how intelligent I am and made me feel more confident. Hence, I did not pay attention to my classmates and worked hard. Now I am a successful professor and I owe this to my caring teacher.

Second, many children trust others of the same age rather than grown up individuals. They share the same feelings, interests and concerns, which will form a closer bond between them. Therefore, they are more prone to be affected by those in their same age. The age gap between students and their teachers causes their relation to seem untrustworthy, and they prefer the company of their friends. In this regard, I have a fourteen years old sister and I can see that she believes what I say better than what my mother says, since I have less age difference with her compared to my mom. This shows that young people can be influenced by their peers rather than their teachers.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that students, particularly in early ages, are affected by their friends rather than their teachers. This is because they want to be accepted among their peers and they can trust people around their age.