It has recently been announced that a new restaurant may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why?

There is not a shadow of doubt that nowadays restaurants play a significant part in our daily life. Although many people would oppose the construction of a new restaurant in their neighborhood, I personally support this decision and I will explore the reasons why I hold this opinion in the following paragraphs.

First, since I go to restaurants most often, a good nearby restaurant reduces my commute time. This will significantly help me to save time. I use restaurants for professional meetings, family gatherings and hanging out with friends and because there are no high quality restaurants near where I live, I drive relatively long distances every time. As a tangible example I recall that I had an important professional appointment at a distant restaurant. My commute took extremely long time due to the traffic jam. I was so late and thoroughly embarrassed that I could barely talk. Had our neighborhood had a decent restaurant, I could have prevented this from happening.

Second, restaurants provide great places to socialize and make friends, especially for old people. Old men and women can take a walk to the restaurant in the neighborhood and meet each other. Many elderlies live lonely and they need to socialize with others of their same age. This will effectively help prevent depression caused by solitude. My grandfather walks to a nearby café every evening. He plays chess and talks about many things with other old men there. He had met most of them in that café for the first time and now they are great friends. I imagine my grandfather would be so lonely if this café was not built.

In a nutshell, I strongly support building a restaurant in my neighborhood since it can help me save so much time and also help elderlies socialize and make friends.