Students should evaluate the performance of their teachers.

Some people believe that students should not evaluate their teacher’s performance. They claim that it can bring stress to the teachers and make them lose confidence. However, in my opinion, I agree that students should evaluate the performance of their teachers. I will explain my viewpoint with following two reasons.

First of all, students are the ones who can most accurately find out about their teacher’s strengths and weaknesses. One of the reasons for this is because teachers spend most of their time with students. Even though they spend quite a lot of time with their peers or superiors, we can’t ignore that class times are longer than breaks, eventually making them spend time with their students the most. For example, it is not exaggerating to say that in Korea, the teachers who takes charge in classes of 3rd grade high school students spend almost every time of the day except sleeping time with their students. Due to such a long period of time spent with their teachers, the students can assess their teachers very well in a variety kind of aspects. Thus, it is reasonable to say that evaluation by students is somewhat more precise than evaluation of other persons.

Second of all, regarding the objective of teachers which is teaching educational contents to the students, they need to develop their teaching through evaluation of their listeners. Subjects and topics can be changed as time passes, in cases as when government changes the education curriculum or a new information is discovered by researchers. Sometimes, the trends of student’s characteristics or methods of delivering contents change also. In order to keep up with these changes and better improve the classes’ contents, teachers need through feedbacks from their students. For example, in my university, my professor changed the contents of his class completely in one semester after receiving negative feedbacks in former semester. Overall, these evaluations can be conducive to teachers in improving their classes for the future.

To conclude, whether evaluation by students to their teachers can be a controvertible topic depending on people. Some argue that students can not provide a fair, precise assessment or such evaluation is unnecessary because it can damage teachers. However, I still contend that evaluation by students is required because students are the most informed entities about his or her teachers and evaluations are beneficial in helping teachers improve their classes.