Students of a university have a long break between university semesters; the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break: ۱٫ Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study

(For example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science.) ۲٫ Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some

aspects of life of the city or their own town. (For example, students may help local primary school children with their homework.) Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why? Give detailed examples and reasons. Use your OWN words, do NOT use memorized examples.

In the modern era, a student has played a prominent role in all societies. Because it is of paramount importance, academicians have always sought ways to enhance the educational systems. Some people may hold the view that for long time vacations, students ought to select a course that irrelevant their major of study. However, some others may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that pupils ought to become a candidate to work at university in their city or hometown for enhancing lifestyle. I content that students can bring several points by selecting a different course on vacation. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first important factor to be mentioned is that students may find their talent. To elaborate on my point, when engineering students select other courses such as art or social science, they are able to find their talent. In this situation, they may follow other major instead of their main major, and they will become a prosperous person. For example, one of my friends studied chemical engineering at Esfahan University of Technology - IUT is one of the best university of Iran. She was a talented person, but she did not like chemical engineering. So, she selected an elective low course in one term. After it, she was able to find her talent. And, she cancelled the study of chemical engineering and followed low. After 7 years, now, she is one of the famous lawyers in my country. But, if she followed chemical engineering, she would not become a successful person.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that students have able to learn new skills or sciences. To shed more light on this matter, when students learn another major, they can follow this major independently. Therefore, they can learn other professions beside their major, and earn extra money from the second professions or start their second jobs. Consider a teacher who knows to programmer, for instance. She can do some computer projects and earn a lot of money from the second job. Also, if she fires from her main career, she can start her job. Additionally, because she has information about a computer, she can up to date her knowledge; hence, she becomes a prosperous teacher in school.

All in all, considering the aforementioned reasons leads us to the conclusion that a different course has several positive points for students. I believe that students not only can find their talent but also can learn new profession.