Taking a lot of time to make an important decision is viewed as a bad quality for a person to have, but, in fact, it's a good quality for a person to have.

There are several decisions that people are required to make every day, ranging from dealing with trivial things, like what to wear or eat in every morning, to significant affairs, including choosing a job or running a policy. The time spent on making different decisions varies greatly. From my perspective, when it comes to make an important decision, it is a desirable quality that people take a lot of time on it.

As for students, the most important thing for them is to choose one university, which can be the turn point in their life. To make such an important decision, they need to search for the information about the university they desire to go, including the location, the professors, curriculum and other aspects about the university. It is the whole process that requires students to spend much time on it. For example, when I was required a choose one university, knowing the importance of this decision for me, I just embarked on an extensive research, sorting out a list of universities, checking whether they can provide students with dorms, finding out whether they are located in the big cities or not, etc. Researching all these things actually took me nearly half a month. Eventually, thanks to my extensive research, I finally chose one university which was located near a big city and provided an opportunity for students to live on campus.

As for businessman, the most important thing for them is to have a successful career. In order to achieve this, they have to identify the potential risk of their commercial behaviors and avoid making mistakes in their strategies. All these things can not be done within a short period of time in case they would suffer from the loss of potential income and investment. For example, traders have to investigate which country can be their reliable trading partners; those who sell electrical devices have to research who their potential consumers are and what can most attract them; people who work on finance have to search for the information about nearly every stock’s company. Had it not been for those long time spent work, success would never be ensured.

Admittedly, a voice arises that people who make a swift decision are able to pursue their goals early so that they are more likely to be successful. Ironically, making a immediate decision just increases the likelihood of working on the wrong path especially in those important situations.

In a nutshell, taking a lot of time to make a decision is a good quality for people in different stages.