The best way for parents to teach their children about responsibility is to have the children care for an animal.

Without a shadow of doubt, competing with peers or friends plays a pivotal role in the development of friendship. It can not denied that conflicts, aroused by competition, sometimes hurt the friendship, and it might mislead impressionable people to generate the opinion that competition is not conducive to maintain friendship. When it comes to my perspective, as far as the memorable moments created by competing, the mutual understanding of each other, and the reflecting on themselves are concerned, I strongly hold the opinion that the friendship is not deteriorated by the process of competition.

The first reason worth mentioning is that having competitors literally create unforgettable moments, which can be cherished by both sides. Take my brother and me,who regard each other as his opponent, as example. Since our childhood, our parents have forced us to compete with each other, such as struggling to get higher grades than the other one, beating against the other one when playing table tennis, running faster in the race, etc. All these activities consist of our memories about other, being cherished by us. Whenever we talk about our childhood, these unforgettable experiences are surfacing. Had it been our parents who prevent us from competing, our memories about each other would not be so clear, and thus our bond would not be strengthened so tightly.

Moreover, another prominent reason is that competition enables rivals to understand mutually. In order to beat contender, one of them has to learn about the other side’s advantages and disadvantages. On the other hand, through numerous games or tests, the rival’s characters and superiority are reflected. Knowing what is lack of, both sides are able to ask each other on how to improve themselves. During the process of overcoming their shortcomings and maintaining competitive edge, everyone can benefit from competition and thus enhance mutual understanding. In this way, virtuous competition, which promote friendship, is created.

A voice arises that conflicts is unavoidable in competition, which exert a negative influence on the maintaining of friendship. However, this statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be scrutinized meticulously. Admittedly, conflicts can be inevitable during competitions. Nonetheless, it is the attitude that helps them to bond with each other. After conflicts, both sides are inclined to reflect on themselves about whether they have done something wrong that outrage rivals objectively. Eventually, holding more objective views on themselves, they would apologize to each other and correct mistakes.Through the process of conflicts and apologize, everyone knows each other better and their friendship might be enhanced.

In conclusion, drawing upon the reasons I have mentioned before, I firmly believe that competition is beneficial for strengthening friendship. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand eyes’, I firmly believe my opponents will yield after being shown to my article.