Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

It is evident that advertisements are created to be intriguing for their targeted audiences. In my view, such advertisements have more detrimental impact on children than adults. I will elaborate on my reasons through the following paragraphs.

To begin with, advertisements, most often, portray only the positive aspects of products and intentionally hide the downsides, creating a false superiority of its quality. Adults may be able to see through the fallacies in the advertisements and decide on their choices. However, children do not know what is better for them and this eventually might create an obsessive desire to buy whatever is shown on the commercials.

Additionally, even adults sometimes find it hard to control the tempting commercials of products, let alone children. Companies can easily catch children’s interests with bright colors, lively commercials, and unnecessary new upgrades. For example, fast food chains lure their children customers by offering limited edition toys with their kids-meal. I, personally, have been a victim of such advertisements when I was a child. I used to beg my mother to buy the set-meal every time they renewed their selection of toys. Likewise, when exposed to such commercials, children tend to lose control and insist their parents to buy those unnecessary products.

Furthermore, advertisements can cause a sense of inferiority or stress on children’s minds. Commercials for kid’s toys, in particular, are produced in such a way that often portray a message that it is “cool” to have the newest toys and upgraded gadgets. For those children who are not able to buy those products might feel interpret these commercials in a wrong way and get disheartened.

In a nutshell, I maintain that advertisements are more harmful for children and they should not be allowed to be aired on television. On top of this, parents should take a notice on any of such commercials that their children are exposed to.