Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Television advertising is one of the most effective ways of convincing people to buy a product, or avail a service. Even the most strong-willed melt in the face of a finely built advertisement. Directing this strategy to children, who are by nature stubborn and sensitive at this young age, is not a wise option in my opinion.

Characters of children are shaped in the tender age of two to five. They like exploring new things and experiences. And advertisements are the tools for just that. And when kids ask for articles they saw on the advertisements, parents are generally unable to decline these requests. So they end up giving in to the whims of a two year old. And if they did deny, juveniles tend to throw tantrums. Either way, it affects the mentality of children.

Children who are given all they want, despite being unnecessary, tend to grow up spoilt. These kids will not assess the utter necessity of an item before buying it, they may indulge in spontaneous extravanganza. On the other hand, children who are denied every wish of theirs( because their parents deemed it unnecessary), tend to develop an animosity toward parents. This feeling is rooted in the idea that their parents do no give in to their wishes. Such kids tend to act out on every occasion.

Advertisements do not have a positive impact on young kids, either way. It is in the best interests of children and the process of moulding their characters that advertisements not be directed at them. Every product pertaining to children must be scrutinised by parents first. Though some may argue that reaching out to children directly can help them decide independently and have their own choices, but independence of thought is not a characteristic that be necessarily present in children of ages two to five.

Considering the aforementioned reasons, I hold my ground that television advertisements should not be directed at children of ages two to five.