TEsting

Good. So when you go to the exhibit, I really want you to take a close look at a certain painting. It's a farm scene. And you will see it right as you enter the gallery. The reason I think this painting is so important is that it stresses the impressionist aspect of Frantzen's style. It's an outdoor scene, an everyday scene. It's kind of bleak, which you can really see those broad brushstrokes and the blurry lines.

The colors aren't quite realistic. The sky is kind of, well, an unnatural... pinkish yellow. And the fence in the foreground is blue, but somehow the overall scene gives an impression of a cold, bleak, winter day on a farm. So that's the impressionist side of her work. Oh, and speaking about farms, that reminds me one interesting thing I read about Franzten is that when she first moved back to Iowa after living abroad, she often visited this place in her town called the Sales Barn.

And the Sales Barn, it was basically this place where the local farmers bought and sold their cattle, their farm animals. And the reason Frantzen went there, and she later on would visit other places like dance halls, was to observe people and the ways that they moved. She really found that this helped her work--that it gave her an understanding of body movements and actions, how humans move, and stand still, what their postures were like, too. So, what about Realism? What are the elements of Realism we should be looking for in Frantzen's work?