These days people, people enjoy a lot of time away from their work and school obligations. Many people use this time to visit new places and learn about them. What do you think is the best way to learn about a place you are visiting for the first time? Going to a museum, Joining a guided tour of popular attractions, Visiting a popular shopping area.

In the modern era getting away from our hectic lives for a while is an appropriate occasion to, besides releasing all the stresses we experience through work and school days, get familiar with some novel places. There are many ways to learn about a new place. Some people are inclined toward going to the museums which show the historic art crafts and relics of that place, whereas other groups of people enjoy visiting popular shopping areas to get informed about the cultural or economic aspects of that place through visiting local-specific products. I suppose that visiting the popular attractions accompanied by an expert tour guide to explain is the best option for learning about it. There are multiple reasons two of which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

The first reason that supports my idea, regarding the experience of the tour guide, is that you can visit the most valuable and more attractions in a limited time you have. Tours are often well-organized and planned to give the most out of it. Tour leaders are truly familiar with the most worthwhile attractions to visit and the required time for each of them. So you can be sure that no important attractions would be missed. They also know about the travel time and traffic situation of roads. So they can efficiently plan the tour for the timing and you will get the most out of it. I recall my first visit to Kish Island, which began with a one day tour offered by the hotel. In just a day I got familiar with the most spectacular natural and historical attractions. It was fantastically planned in such a way that when the weather was hot, we were visiting some indoor places and when the weather got mild, we were enjoying the sunset on the beach.

Another reason coming to my mind is that you can get informed of the stories behind attractions. There might be some mysterious and informative stories relevant to those attractions, such as the reasons for the formation of them, historic events happened there, etc. Knowing those pieces of information will bring you a comprehensive understanding of the place. An expert tour guide is normally local and deeply familiar with that attraction who also have studied the background of them. Due to their experiences, they also know what kind of data a visitor might be looking for. I have been engaged with the story of the Greek grounded ship in the Kish Island which the tour leader told us. It was full of information and made the pleasure of watching the eye-catching scene of the ship in the sunset even more.

All in all, I think it is the best way to learn about a new place to participate in a guided tour. In that way, you can use your time efficiently and also it will bring you interesting pieces of information. Studying through books or the internet before visiting that place will make your visit even more useful.