Topic: Some people think that the media should not report details of crimes to the public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, there are a number of articles which commonly update worldwide issues including politics, laws, and so on. The criminal press is one of the kinds of topics that attract a great deal of public attention; however, some people argue that it is not necessary to report details of crimes to the public. I totally agree with this opinion because of some rational reasons.

To begin with, reporting details of crime publicly may exert adverse effects on the accelerating criminal rate. This is because anti-social people who are inclined to commit offences will know all the tricks and means to avoid being caught by the police once the detailed report of a heinous offence is revealed. Consequently, things seem to turn out to be much easier to offend a crime. For example, there is a movie called The Social Network which is about hacking. The film describes meticulously how the main character uses apps to attack customers’ private accounts, and how the police tend to react. After the movie’s projection, reports showed that the hacking offence proportion strongly surged.

Secondly, reformed offenders’ mentality will be affected when their cases are published. Several negative comments or reactions are likely to appear whenever there is an article relating to a crime because it is people’s normal reaction to chastise bad behaviours or activities. Nevertheless, those comments did hurt the criminals’ feelings strongly if they read the criticism by any chance. As a result, the offenders may suffer from stress or depression; furthermore, it will be arduous for them to reintegrate once they complete their punishment. A murder case which happened six years ago is a perfect epitome. Woefully, the criminal of this crime was still a juvenile who was not mature enough to confront all the hate from the public; he then suicides since he could not endure his reality.

In conclusion, I totally consent that detailed reports of crime should not be revealed publicly. This is because it probably leads to a high level of crime and the act of publishing will have great influences on offenders’ mentality.