TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debate whether it is better to keep having an old friend than making new set of friend. Having friends can keep a individual be grounded, happy and opt to have someone that they can depend on in times of difficulties in life. In my opinion, it is more advantageous to have someone in your life that you know very well and trust. I feel this way fro two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, keeping old friends are more beneficial, due to, they know you much better. Old friends usually are tested through hardships in life, they are the people who are always at your side no matter what happened. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I Have a old friend in my childhood, which is truly trust with my life. I know for a fact, that when I need him the most he would be for in an instance. We are on our yearly trip at the beach that time, I was swimming afar and suddenly i experienced muscle cramps I could not further swim, due to stiffening of my calf muscle, but, my friend helped me survived he reached my hand and dragged me to the shore. For this reason, I strongly believed that old friend will always have your back no matter what circumstances you are facing.

Secondly, Old friends have certain bond or connection that cannot be changed, even if new friends would come, there is a deep understanding and love with each other. Even if distance and time with separate you from each other, the connection will be the same. For instance, My best friend migrated to the states last year, but, our connection with each other still flourished even if we are miles away. Our bond stayed strong despite the difference in time zones, thus, it kept our friendship on the highest level. We became more close with each other, shared our deepest secrets together and definitely trust each other. Accordingly, I think that this kind of friendship helped me to treat other people more better.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is more advantageous to have an old friend rather than making new friends. This is because old friends are better trusted and will be always be there for you in times of need.