TPO- 49 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship is needed by everyone here on earth. It is essential for every human being to look for some one to comfort them and to give joy in their lives. They say that "no man is an island" meaning no one cannot survive without a friend and it will be a dull world without one. In my opinion, I believe that maintaining small number of friends over a long period of time is more beneficial rather than making new friends easily. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, maintaining friends is crucial in everyone. Not everyone has the luxury to have intact friendship, but it is a treasure to keep a few friends who are always there for you in times of hard times. My own experience is a compelling example of this, I was on my 6th grade I am very close to my seatmate Alvin, he became my bestfriend because he is always there for me in whatever circumstances I may have been facing even in happiness or in sorrow. I tragic moment happened with me, I lost my mother with due to severe sickness and my friend Alvin was always there for me to support me during my mom's hospitalization and after her passing. I was very young then, so weak and emotionally unstable but he always helped me to survive the passing of my mother and helped me realized that I must pick my self up and my life must go on. Also, my friend always make me happy and make jokes that makes me laugh so hard. Whenever me and Alvin see each other there are always reminiscing about our elementary days about things we did that are crazy and that are the happiest moments of my life. I think if I never knew my friend I would have been at my worst life having him is a blessing. Hence, I believe that having a small group of friends which are very close to your life is essential because I don't think someone like a new friend can do things like my bestfriend have done for me.

Secondly, meeting new friends are exciting and fun. For awhile, it is pleasing and enjoyable moment because you can find out things that are in common with you. But as things get to unravel, you also realize that there are only few connections you are sharing with. For example, I met a friend in work her name is Arisan. She is fun to be with and bubbly I though that we jived for a while and become friends. We usually spend together after work eating out in dinner and shopping. But when I resigned for work, our communication suddenly disappeared, I tried reaching out with her but it failed. We really connected and bonded with each other easily, but our friendship ended in a quick turn. This illustrates that it is better to have friends over a long period of time because it can last more and the friendship is more real.

To summarize, I strongly believe that maintaining small group of friends over a long period of time is more integral. This is because you can certainly count of them through happy moments and hardships in life.