TPO 20 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern world everything is constantly evolving and in order for people to belong in a strata they need to re-invent and acquire different knowledge to be successful. Some people believe that people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. In my humble opinion, I choose the former option. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, businessmen tries different approach to be on top of the market. Every little edge they think might get them to the ladder of success, they will grab it and never be afraid to explore their options. People who took risk and experiment have better results of being successful individuals, according to studies. It is because individuals can create a wild idea from being explorative and risk taker. For instance, Mark Zucherberg has been drop out of college and he did everything in his power to be successful. He was not afraid to take risk and try new things for him to create this wonderful app we all love "facebook". He was not afraid to have failure in life and continually perfected his social media application and it is used all over the world. He is the most powerful person and influential people of our generation today. To sum up, one of the key ingredient of being successful is taking risk and go what your instinct is telling you, that you will be great someday. Just follow what you want in life and pursue your passion because there is always something good at the end of it.

Secondly, the negative consequence of doing what you do well is that you will not be creative enough to think of other options. In other words, there are no room to grow and no place for improvement because individuals are in their comfort zone. Hence, they are satisfied with their performance and don't want to excel further. For example, I am a dialysis Nurse in Manila and I am very comfortable with my environment, co worker, patients and boss. I just work because I need to and I don't want to further push my self to become the best in my field. I may say that patients loved my work ethics but there are other ways to improve my skills but I am hesitant to further expand my knowledge in my career. Maybe because I am afraid to try something new or even take risk and my work routine will be ruined. All in all, I can become more proficient Nurse if I just push my self and not be satisfied that I performed good at work.

To summarize, I believe that being successful person means you are not afraid to take risk and try something new in your life. This is because taking risk can have positive outcome like having a new idea or gain new knowledge.