TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Advertisements are one of the main parts of the shelling of a product. Companies use advertising proceduder in order to show their products in the best way possible. In my opinion, marketing specialists have made nowadays advertisements, despite their fundamental utility for attract potencial buyers, to reach a level excesively unreal and usually the advertisements overstimate the value or the characteristics of the product that they represent. I feel this way for two main reasons which i will explore in teh following essay. First, advertisement does not tell any of the disadvantages of the product. Second, usually they do not show realistic analysis of the product in real operational conditions.

To begin with, advertisements are fundamental for marketing pourposes and tend to represent an idealized product that never fails. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Almost everyone has or have had, at least, one smartphone at home that did not work properly. When you watch the advertisements all phones are amazing, they usually perform better than the rest and they seem indestructible. However, when you use them everyday sometimes you can feel how it is not wrking very, usually they start to lose battery to fast, or their screen cracks with a minimum touch.

Secondly, despite of the basic characteristics and specifications of the product are usually indicated, not allways companies make reference to all of the test performed over the product before reach the market. My own personal history is proof of this. Making reference again to smartphones, the advertisment of one of my first ones tell how you could use it under the water. The advertisement said that this smartphone was waterproof, but this adjetive did not refer to the fact that it can be used under the water, like the advertisment shown. They did not show their test, so people thought that the smartphone coul be used under the water. The tricky part of this was that the phone could resist little water drops and low moistured environments, not to be sumerged.

In conclusion, I belive that advertisements reflect just the best specifications of the product or its innovations, but the do not show the real performance of the product. This is because advertisement neither usually show disadvantages of the product nor show realistic analysis of the product in real operational conditions.