TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

we live in a world of technology and advertising. In order to market a new product, companies use celebrities or familiar people to endorse the product. but have you ever thought, is the product really worth it or is it just another ordinary commodity that is a part of marketing gimmick. we easily get lured into trying something new just because we liked the promo on the tv or radio or other social media. I will explore why I do not fall prey to such advertisements.

Not all that glitters is gold. I believe this proverb applies very well to the field of advertising. I have noticed that most of the products shown on tv are not of the same quality as promised. eg: I had ordered a slicer which promised to cut thin slices of the veggies in seconds and that the slicer is made of high quality blades. when I received it, I noticed that not only the quality of the slicer was substandard but also it took a lot of effort and time to make thin slices. Conclusion, the product was hyped on tv for its efficiency and quality.

advertisements are made to attract the customers into purchasing the product. A lot of surveying goes into creating the advertisement and target a group of buyers. eg: when a new phone comes into market, the company may advertise it differently for different set of people. it may hire a celebrity describing its unique features to attract older age buyers. The same company may make the advertisement using a basketball player to talk about its features to attract a much younger crowd. As a result, people will buy this phone no matter how expensive it is, just because they see their role model vouching for it.

there have been a lot of advertisements on tv about body soaps, where you see a female sitting in a foamy bath tub with candles lit around and a glass of wine in her hand creating a picture of being relaxed due to the soap that she is using. one thing that drives me crazy is that, no one has time in their busy life to sit in a bath tub and enjoy wine as shown in the commercial. but still lot of us will buy the soap because of the way it was portrayed to be relaxing and effective.

Overall, In my opinion, most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.