TPO 18 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People show different attitudes towards whether teachers or friends have bigger influences on students. In my opinion, I give my vote to the argument that friends have a greater impact on the decisions of young people. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, while juveniles are in contact with their teachers a few hours at school, they spend most of their time socializing with their peers, sharing their thoughts and concerns with each other. As a result, their friends are able to comprehend what students are interested in. Consequently, friends contribute greatly to the decision making of an adolescent. My own example is a compelling example. I have some good friends who have spent most of their time with me. As such, they grasp my strengths and weaknesses. Before making any important decision, I always ask them for their comments and recommendations. However, I ask the same from my teachers once in a blue moon as I do not have any strong connections with them.

Secondly, I believe students are more influenced by their friends thanks to the fact that they have the same ages and interests thus taking possession of similar points of view. On the other hand, there are always conflicts in teachers´ outlook and those of students by virtue of the generation difference. For example, my teachers usually urge me and my classmates to find jobs that are suitable for our backgrounds as he believes that it plays an important role in obtaining success. However, we always want to take risks and engage in performing new things. Therefore, we hardly keep their words in our minds.

In conclusion, the above-mentioned reasons and examples add weight to my view that youngsters follow recommendations given by their friends rather than those of their professors. This is due to the fact that friends normally understand young people more than their teachers do and because of the difference in thinking between two generations.