TPO 39 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have different views on whether it was more or less difficult to find a secure job or get a successful career in the past. In my opinion, I agree with the argument that it was more difficult for people to opt for a thriving job in modern time. There are two reasons for my view which will be explored as below.

First of all, governments used to take control of most important economic disciplines in the past. As such, those industries heavily subsidized by state had more advantages for development as well as stable prospect. Consequently, employees working in those fields had a clear path to be successful. My own experience is a compelling example. The oil & gas and telecommunication industries were under completely control of Vietnamese government. Each year, the Vietnamese cabinet digged deep into their pockets to support those two disciplines. Therefore, employees were provided with excellent perks which cannot be found in any other field. I joined the Vietnamese national petroleum corporation 15 years ago and got incredibly high wage since then. This example shows how predictable it was to find a good career in the past.

Secondly, the emergence of technology and the internet have caused serious impacts on the prospect and certainty of various industries. Despite its capacity to boost the development of many industries, the introduction of advanced technologies is the main factor which is to blame for the fact that some careers used to be considered prestige were completely turned into trivial ones in a short period of time. As the result, there is no firmed guarantee of stable income and successful future for their workers. An example is the teaching career. Before the boom of the internet, students hunger for knowledge had to lean on their teachers for a better education. As such, lecturers were well appreciated by society which meant that they earned more than enough to make ends meet. Anyone who graduated with teaching background easily found a stable position in a public or private school. However, this fact is no longer true nowadays when online learning booms and students have many other choices for education.

In conclusion, my vote is put on the notion that we were able to find a stable and successful career a few decades ago more easily than we could today. It was because of heavy state supervision and subtle impact of technology advance.