TPO-18 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays a widespread belief exists that students are more impacted by their teachers than by their friends. Although I can understand the reasons on which this stance is based, I cannot completely agree with it because both teachers and friends play their dramatic roles in lives of students. My prospect and reasons on which it is based will be discussed in details below.

First of all, teachers obviously have an enormous influence on their students. For instance, each of us can multiply, add, divide numbers, we do remember the number of planet in the solar system and we can read and write as well. All those knowledge and skills were learned at school and they are illustration of teachers' influence on us. In fact, teachers are a part of a system which was designed to shape our minds and give us knowledge. This system gives them tools and means which may be employed to steer students' behavior, for instance, estimation of pupils' performance at school, giving them positive or negative feedback, publicly prize or criticize. Those are names of a few means.

Secondly, school is not only a place where we get our education but it is a social institution as well. We enroll at it when we are children and leave it when we become persons with free will and shaped viewpoint on life. Our friends and classmates have a huge impact on development of our personalities. We learn norms of moral, what is appropriate and inappropriate behavior from our mates in informal situations in interaction with each other. By contrast, a person who for some reasons does not have this kind of influence will not develop needed skills of social interaction and will struggle to adapt to society.

Finally, teachers are probably more significant for students than classmates because role of educators is not limited by giving education. They play a remarkable role at shaping our personalities as well. Initially they take roles which used to be played by our parents. However, when students become older the role of teacher is changing and we learn how to obey and how to live in hierarchical structures. From our educators we learn how to obey to orders and follow the rules. In other words, teachers allow us to create a complete picture of the reality and to be prepared for independent life.

To wrap up, although teachers and students both have impact on students, teachers have more fundamental role because they not only educate us but help us to socialize and be prepare for our adulthood.