TPO 21 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People show different attitudes toward how to succeed in their future careers. While some students think an excellent academic record is the most important factor, in my opinion, I give my vote to the argument that establishing and maintaining good relationships with other people is pivotal in guaranteeing one´s success. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, relating well to people especially your colleagues greatly contributes to your career advancement as they will give you advice or lend you their hands when you get troubles at work. Besides, elder company members who love you may share their valuable knowledge which is not be taught at any college or university. Those kinds of assistance and knowledge are critical for fresh graduates who have little real-life comprehension. My own experience is a compelling example. When I first enjoyed my company ten years ago, I tried to be nice and make friends with various colleagues. During my first year at work, they gave me extensive supports and instructions, especially they taught me how to talk to clients effectively. As a result, I was promoted to management level after four years. I could not reach that incredible achievement without my beloved team-mates.

Secondly, people who have good relationships with you may provide you with precious information like a job offer with better remuneration. In the current competitive society, this advantage plays a crucial role in improving your career. My friend´s experience exemplifies this idea. He worked for his previous company for ten years but had no chance of bettering his position. However, he is a decent man and many of his clients like him. Three years ago, one of his clients notified him about a job vacancy which perfectly matched his background and comes with a higher wage. Therefore, my friend now earns double and he is utterly satisfied with his work. This example shows how important good relationships are.

In conclusion, those above-mentioned arguments and examples put weight to my view that one should develop and sustain fruitful relationships with their colleagues and others so that they can achieve success in their career.