TPO-22 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no gainsaying that teachers have a vital role in students' lives. There is a great debate whether teachers should declare their political and social views in the class room or not. From my perspective, teachers should not talk about their political and social views in the classroom, since they not only might misuse their teaching opportunity, but also might distract from their main duty. In addition, the teachers should not spend the time of class for anything except teaching. The ensuing paragraphs will elaborate my points of view.

First exquisite point is mentioned is that, teachers have a far-reaching impact on the students. The great majority of students listen carefully to teacher words and they trust to their teachers. Therefore, if the teacher would be allowed to assert their social and political views, they have a great opportunity for misusing. For example, in my country, people who are older than 16 years are capable to vote; when I was in high school, our mathematics teacher were advocate one candidate and his words influenced on our decision and we voted to his favorite candidate. After some few years, I regret for my vote.

Second point that comes to my mind is that the teachers and students should just concentrate on the education a sole aim, not anything else. When a teacher talks about her political and social views, she is likely to have less concentration on the course materials and she cannot teach efficiently. Furthermore, when teachers declare their views and sometime some students might debate with them. These controversial arguments can hurt the teachers and students relationships and decrease the teachers and students concentration and efficiency. Hence, teacher should not be allowed to assert their views in classrooms.

Last but not least, time is precious and everybody especially teachers should appreciate time and do not waste it. Teachers have limited time for teaching during each semester and most of them cannot teach all materials on time and they coerce students to participate in the extra sessions. And most of these sessions are hold in the last weeks of the semester and they have adverse impact on the students’ efficiency. Since, most of the students are busy and they are not interested to participate in extra sessions. Therefore, although the teachers' view can help the students especially some real life aspects, the teachers should just teach the course material and do not squander the class time for talking about their political and social views.

In conclusion, contemplating the aforementioned paragraphs, the teacher should just concentrate on the teaching rather than anything else.