TPO 41 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Modern society has changed radically people´s attitudes towards the role of teachers. In my opinion, I agree with the argument that professors are less appreciated and less valuable than they were previously. There are 2 reasons for my view which will be explored in the following essay.

First of all, the emergence of the internet greatly contributes to the gradual decline of teachers´ importance. People in the past had to lean on their professors to earn understanding and knowledge. However, the boom of internet has revolutionized the way people learn. We now can easily find online teaching resources with detailed explanations and instructions thus do not need much assistance from teachers. An example for this trend is my father´s experience. He has been an English teacher for many years. Before 2000, he was busy teaching as many as 25 classes a week and every class was full of students. However, with the presence of online learning websites and softwares, his schedule has slowly reduced and my father only provides tutorials for ten elementary kids twice a week at this moment.

Secondly, parents and students less appreciate their teachers because of little interaction with them. The surge of online or distance learning gradually replaces on-campus education. As such, rather than face to face meeting with their professors every day to discuss questions and doubts, pupils are able to send their inquiries by email or find solutions from other online sources. My own experience exemplifies this idea. I am currently studying a post-graduate course on computer science via distance learning. The lecturers only send me the syllabus and list of reference materials. What I have to do is self learning. Should I encounter any difficulty, I would rather seek the answer from a range of specialized forums of which I am a member. I feel that way more convenient and faster. As such, I have little interaction with my teachers thus do not have much sense of appreciation to them.

In conclusion, the development of modern technology puts weight to my view that the value of teachers has decreased a lot and students become less appreciated to their lecturers than they did in the past.