tpo 29 the edomontosaurs

The material discusses the concept of migration hypothesis of the edomontosaurs from Alaska’s North slope to south during winter. While the reading looks at the topic from one perspective, the listening challenges certain points outlined in the reading passage.

Firstly, the reading details specific points regarding this topic, namely edmontosaurs fed just on plants, but there were no plants in north region during the winter; so, they had to migrate south to find food. Next, Edmontosaurs lived in herd that coordinated their migrations. Finally, the edmontosaurs were physically able to migrate long distance

Conversely, the listening challenges the points, one specific contradiction is the weather in Alaska’s North slope was warmer than today, that was a good growing condition for plants. Therefore, there were lots of vegetation during the winter too; so edmontosaurs did not need to migrate. In addition to that, living in herd does not mean that animals could immigrate. They might live in herd to provide extra protection from predators. For example, elks live in herds, but do not immigrate. One final point, the old edmontosaurs were able to travel long distances; however, the juvenile ones were not physically capable to migrate; moreover, they could not survive by their own. Consequently, the edmontosaurs could not migrate and leave their younger ones alone.

In summary, there are obvious discrepancies in the presented information.