TPO-31- Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the pastUse specific reasons and examples to

Happiness and satisfaction are very important in our lives. When people are happy, they could live healthier and help others as well. The world is changing so quickly that people can't adapt themselves and can't enjoy as much as people in the past. It is an inevitable change that comes with our modern times.

The first aspect is technology that is advancing every day and it is hard to keep up with changes. For instance, our elderlies are having difficult times to adapt themselves to recent technological changes as well as people in their forties and fifties. My parents are bright people, but they are having difficulties adopting themselves with new gadgets like smartphones, computers, etc. They don't know how to use them properly and they feel unhappy about changes. This could easily affect people and cause them feel less satisfied with their lives.

Second, with growing population comes more needs and more people to satisfy. In that order, environments around us would change significantly in time. For example, it is impossible to get a straightforward address in Tehran, the city I live in, because elderlies prefer to use old names of streets and places instead of adapting themselves to new changes. The other problem is, the city is having too many changes in little time that everybody feels alienated. There were a few beautiful vast gardens that are being replaced with skyscrapers. Old memorable cafes and other ancient building are being replaced with malls, restaurants, fast foods, etc. In this way, people lose their feeling toward their hometown and eventually feel less happy and less satisfied.

The world is changing fast, and it is beyond our reach to regulate the pace of changes. Technology is getting more advanced and more complexed every day, and our habitat is changing also. We can't slow the ratio of changes, but we could regulate rules to preserve some aspects of our lives, like memorable places and public spaces, so that we could share common memories with future generations and live a happier life.