TPO 38

When a baby is born, it seems that he or she has no ability except crying. However, by getting older he or she learns walking, speaking, and then writing. One of the most important soft skills during working age of each person is leadership. .There is a debate in this case as to whether this ability could be achieved by exercise or not. An outstanding argument states that leadership is a kind of art and is something natural that could not be learned. I repudiate it strongly. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two noticeable reasons.

The first idea, which deserves some words here, is that the most important thing to learn something is motivation. By having enough motivation for doing something, you can catch it. Likewise, the leadership is not an exception to this thesis. Even though people have the different initial state of reaching their goals, means their abilities and their knowledge, they can achieve it. The only thing that changes as a result of this difference is the amount of perseverance they should have. For instance, as we see in Paralympic competitions, there are many disable athletics, who have more physical abilities than a normal enable human. This means that if a person is motivated to be a powerful leader, regardless of his/her current situation, he/she can reach it.

Another equally significant point is that leadership is just some sort of methods and rules. There are many universities and colleges, which admit prospective students, who have no experience in leadership but have some work experiences, and teach them these methods. These universities are at the top of the university rankings and have strong faculties in management and leadership fields. Consequently, these universities have excellent outcomes, who are the most successful and prominent leaders in the world. Accordingly, there is a way to teach leadership to people with no business and management background. Perhaps a more specific and first-hand experience can shed more light on the matter. One of my cousins, after ten years working in a company as an employee, decided to attend a business course at Sharif University of Technology. After two years, when he has graduated, he could find a project manager position in another company with two times more salary. Hence, I think everyone can learn these rules of leadership.

In summary, all the presented ideas above bring us to the conclusion that leadership is not a natural ability of persons. However, reaching this ability needs great motivation and hard working. I hope that no one deprived of his/her aim in the future by these motivation killer statements.