Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Being a controversial issue, whether the rules set for the young to follow are too rigid has aroused a great deal of attention during the past decades. Some argues that these rules are too strict we should allow teenagers to explore the world freely, while others suggest that rules be strictly set for young people to obey. As for me, I consider the rules to be necessary, rather than strict. Essential and persuasive evidence will be provided in the following paragraphs to verify my judgement.

Of all the reasons leading to my point, the fact that these rules help keep the society safe and secure is the most rudimentary. More specifically, without sufficient or even strict rules, the stability and harmony of the society cannot be assured. Go back to the example of China. In the 1970’s, a great number of laws are badly established, and as a result, few regulations are provided to prevent non-grownups from doing harm to the society. According to the historic data from the government, we can clearly see the number of teenagers who once committed a crime is significantly higher than today. Another good case in point is that nowadays, more and more terrorists from mid-east are young people, who are not very well educated, and their countries fail to tell them what they should do and what they shouldn’t. Therefore, these two examples clearly illustrate that rules for the young can never be too strict to ensure the security and stability of the society.

Besides this, the tremendous benefits that these rules can bring for young people can also be applied to further explain why I render them to be of great importance, because they play a significant role in building and developing right values and principles. Before we human beings get to know what is right, we have to know what is prohibited and never allowed. Those rules are just there to tell young people what is right and valued. To be more specific, a teenager will never really know the necessity of being responsible until they are punished for breaking the rules and told to be responsible for their mis-behaviors. Additionally, one will never realize the importance of education if he has never been forced to leave their parents and study at kindergarten. As a result, complete and even rigid rules are necessary for the growth of a youngster, because it is based on these rules that valuable principles are formed.

It is true that there are a few drawbacks of too many rules. Some may argue, for example, that these strict rules have killed the innovative and creative ideas of young people. But as far as I am concerned, only after basic values and principles are stabilized in their mind can we encourage them to make full use of talent and imagination to create a better world. If the ladder is lean against the wrong wall, it will be disastrous to foster so-called creativity and innovation.

Simply put, it’s fairly safe to draw a conclusion that the rules set by the society are never too strict for the young to follow, because it will certainly benefit them by helping form basic principles inside themselves, as well as provide our society with stability and security.