TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade

-Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are some situations that we confront the dilemma of how we should tackle the issue, such as when the meeting leader says something wrong. A controversial question that arises in this regard is that whether correct his mistake right away or wait until the end of the meeting or say nothing at all. While different people hold different perspectives according to their previous experiences, as far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion, it is way better to point out someone's mistake immediately. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first noteworthy reason coming to my mind is that this approach can prevent the spread of incorrect information. The main purpose of the professional meeting is to broaden people's scope of knowledge by authentic and exact information, therefore, giving wrong information will lead to the distribution of invalid materials. Moreover, enthusiastic people tend to share their knowledge with their counterparts and fellows, as a result, the wrong information may circulate between people. For instance, if someone participates in a medical conference, and receives unintentionally wrong information about chronic diseases, he/she definitely conveys his/her wrong knowledge with their families. But, by correcting the mistake of the lecturer, we can hinder such negative consequences.

Another exquisite point to be mentioned is that this way may lead to a hot debate which motivates audiences to be actively involved in the discussion. Most of the time, audiences are complaining about how the attending meeting is boring since the speaker usually talk all the time. Thus, pointing out mistakes in the speech can give rise to an exciting discussion that everyone can be involved and exchange their viewpoints and perspectives. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Last month I attended the national economic seminar. During one of the speeches, the speaker gave the wrong information about the unemployment rate in our country. My immediate correctness of the mistake caused a discussion that other students and even professors gave their opinion, as a consequence, we had a long-lasting exciting debate.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, I firmly believe the advantages of correcting the lecturer's mistakes right away are immense and indisputable. This approach not only prevents the spreading of invalid materials but also leads to a hot joyful discussion that participants can participate in.