TPO 47

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no denying that people are now able to know events happening around the world through the Internet. I admit that there is a lot of opinions about whether we should know what events are happening or not; however, it is beneficial for us to be aware of the events which occur in the world even if they do not have a significant influence on our lives directly. I feel this way for two reasons that I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, we sometimes can be well-motivated by knowing the outstanding achievement of others. Many young people are talented in specific fields such as sports, arts and academic subjects, and we can easily know their activity through the Internet. By learning these surprising outcomes, we can be encouraged. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a freshman at university, I majored in physics. I was interested in physics, but I felt that some courses are pretty challenging to understand. I was about to lose my interest in physics; however, I heard the news that a college student in the United States could prove the theory that had not been proved for many decades. This news surprised me, and I began to think that I also wanted to prove the complicated theory in the future. Consequently, I could regain my motivation toward physics and could graduate from my university with honor.

Second, we can feel appreciate at peace in daily life. When we see some news through social media or TVs, we can find much negative news that happens in the poor region such as wars, the problems of refugees, and so on. We tend to take it for granted that peace is everywhere, but this negative news tells us that there were many efforts to achieve peaceful daily life. For example, when I see the news about Africa, I could know the problems about a shortage of waters or the danger of wars. By this news, I feel more appreciated in my daily life.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that we should know what events are happening around the world regardless of the influence of our daily lives. This is because we can sometimes be well-motivated about what we are doing, and we can appreciate the peace in daily life.