TPO 51Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Television has been one of the most important advances in technology. However, there are different opinions about its effects. Some people consider that television has brought about positive effects on human’s behavior while others believe that it presents negative aspects. I personally believe that the advantages of television overweight those negative consequences. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the main purpose of the creation of the television has been to provide people with a different type of entertainment. In fact, it has been a method that most of the people currently use for relaxing after extensive hours of working or studying. By doing this activity, many people have improved their performance not only in their jobs but at in their academic duties. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in high school, sometimes I had problems in focusing in class and consequently, my performance was questioned by some professors. Nevertheless, after days and even weeks trying to organize better my activities during the day, I finally found the best schedule for my time. In spite of having a lot of work per day, I spent little of my free time relaxing; and one of the activities that I used to do was watching movies or series on TV. Having incorporated this activity in my schedule, I could concentrate better in class and my grades improved as well. Furthermore, according to my psychology professor, it was because of the fact that my stress disappeared.

Secondly, another benefit that people may obtain by using television as a tool of entertainment is imagination. According to several studies in psychology, television helps exclusively children to improve their creativity. Since they can relate information acquired by class to information from the television, they can create a story and also organize information. For instance, my nephew, who is 9 years old, two years ago supposedly did not present abilities for creating. However, this reality changed when he started to watch movies. Because he acquired new information from the stories on TV, he replied the scenes from the movie and also performed new actions which according to his doctor was a characteristic of people who have great skills to create. In other words, not only television by itself but also the content in it, play an important role in the development of some abilities that are essential for children.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that television has come for improving our lives because it does not only improve our performance in our activities but also provide us with tools for enhancing our ability of creation.