TPO12

Do you agree or disagree with following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects to specialize in one specific subject.

Nowadays, no one can deny the importance of academic study. Some people may hold the opinion that if you gain vast knowledge from many academic subjects, it is better for you. But others have a negative attitude. As far as I am concerned , I agree with the second group of people because, obviously, if you focus only on one subject then you one subject, you can be a good expert on that subject. I will try to examine below the specific reasons for my idea according to which I think are the most common viewpoints today.

First let us look at what a person can typically gain from study a academic subject. By studying subject, everyone can learn any knowledge about that major that help him or her to find a good job. It goes without saying that, although knowing from any subject is helpful, learning deeply one subject is more useful and helpful for students. By way of illustration, computer industry need people who are very handy in programming. In other hand, learning chemistry or physic are not essential for getting a job in computer company.

There is also a more subtle point we must consider. If you decide study only one subject, you a comprehensive view about that you can find more idea about it. Taking my brother for example, he study only biology and he has many innovative and novel ideas and concepts about his major that helped he to do a lot of research in biology and he is studying PhD in one of the best univeristies around the word now.

Finally, I cannot oversee the fact that learning many broad subjects also means wasting our invaluable time. To elucidate on, if you want to have enough knowledge about many subjects then you need a lot aof time. Also, every subject has many aspects you might intrigued by them and then you loss many of your time. For instance, one of my friends decide to study many academic subjects in university. In contrast, I prefer to only study one subject. He does not graduated while I graduate last year.

Drawing upon the reasons, although there are always some exceptions which are escluded from the general rule, I do agree that the benfits of study only one subject is more than merits of other plan. To recapitulate the reasons, not only you can gain a good jobs by focusing on one subject, but also you have more time and ideas.