TPO19

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources.

Knowledge plays a prominent role in people’s success and efforts to finding the best ways of improving this knowledge have been always among the top priorities. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is that whether people should use one source of news for become well-informed or they should use various sources of news. I, to a great extent, concur with the idea that people need to use different sources of news. The rationale behind this thesis will be elaborated by the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point that makes me hold this belief is that using different sources of information helps people to get news from different viewpoints. It goes without saying that every resource is controlled by a special organization and it is beneficial for people to get familiar with various aspects of news. For example, in my country, television is completely controlled by the government; thus, because of some considerations, they sensor many news or remove some details or even interpret them incorrectly and in the way that is beneficial for the countries' future. If people get their information just from the TV, they easily mislead and do not get accurate information and news.

Another reason deserving some words here is that when people gain information from various resources, they gain various knowledge in different field not only in limited number of area. Many resources are specialized for certain kinds of news and do not cover all the information. For example, some newspapers are especially for the sport news, some only for political events or some others are just for the weather and environmental issues. People just reading certain kind of newspapers like sport news, can improve a special realm which is sport, while other aspects of news are also really momentous in people's life and ignoring them makes people do not be informed about other areas. Therefore, for being well-informed people must get information from different resources.

Finally, yet importantly, obtaining information from various means helps people to enhance their knowledge about different tools and means of communications leading to making them informed people. In today's world, there are many instruments from which people can gain information, like television, radio, computer, cellphone, newspaper and many other tools. Working with this tools helps people to get familiar with the functions of the tools and how they can use them. They can gain invaluable knowledge and enhance their horizon. As I remember, in the first years that cellphones came to the bazaar, I forced my father to use cellphone for his communications. At first, my father was reluctant to use it. After few days that I showed the advantageous of cellphone to him, he was inclined to use it. He quickly got familiar with all the programs and applications of cellphone. Had my father not use the cellphone, he would not have known about it and how to use it.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned paragraphs, one can soon realize that in order to be knowledgeable, one must get information from different resources since not only can they get accurate information, but also they can get familiar with different areas and it helps people to get acquaintance with the means of communications as well. It is highly recommended that governments not underestimate the value of communicational tools for informing the society for having a prosperous country.