TPO20

I agree. In my opinion, because of the following three reasons, the importance of extended family has decreased a lot during our history.

The first point I want to make is that in the past, people relied on help from their extended family. For example, in the past, many places in my country were not under government’s control. Since laws were not implemented thoroughly, the crime rates back then were much higher than now. As a result, my ancestors needed great assistance from their big family to stay safe and protected in their society. However, nowadays the government has good control over nearly every corner in my country. So, the help from extended family seems to diminish.

In addition, modern people are exposed to a growing amount of relationship. Since they have too many new friends to care about, they put less emphasis on their extended family. For instance, when my mother was young, she knew only a few people from her community. In other words, she spent most of her time with them, including members from her extended family. However, nowadays we meet and make friends with more and more people. Therefore, we have less and less focus on each relationship. And, the relationship with our extended family has also become less important to us.

Also, the distance between where the members from extended family live has increased because traffic system now is much more convenient than before. For example, because my ancestors needed help from their extended family, they had to stay close to its members. Since the members mostly lived in the same or nearby place, they were more connected to one another. On the contrary, today we are able to travel to any place in a shorter time. So, we do not have to live close to our extended family. As a result, we became less connected to the family members.

In sum, the mentioned three reasons explain why I agree with the statement. First, people no longer need as much help from extended family. Also, the increasing exposure to relationship has decreased people’s emphasis on each relationship. Lastly, people do not live close to their extended family anymore.