In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

It is claimed that the number of vehicles on the roads will be reduced in a couple of decades. Although the car is a comfortable and suitable type of transport for many people, I dare say that the pollution caused by it accompanied with high costs related to the ownership of a car will eventually reduce the number of cars.

To begin with, the usage of private transport is usually associated with comfortable traveling and the ability to move in any direction, such as the office in the city center or a gym on its boarders. Many people value comfortable traveling across the town, what significantly increases the number of drivers. Usually, people drive alone with no passengers. However, working late hours creates opportunities for those traveling by car in the evening, at the time when the traffic becomes light.

Nonetheless, the detrimental effect of the usage of private cars outweighs its benefits. The use of personal cars leads to an increase in the pollution level and traffic in large cities, which, in turn, makes it uncomfortable to live for the public. To be specific, the University of General Pollution published a study according to which the pollution level in cities with a population of over a million people increased by 32% for just last ten years. To counteract this tendency the government of Russia increased funding for plants creating environmentally friendly vehicles such as the project «Green Bus» in Moscow. By boosting the use of ecologically friendly vehicles the government reduces the harmful effects conjugated with the use of cars.

By the same token, the benefits of ownership and cost saving opportunities by using own car are greatly exaggerated. A driver may greatly reduce the costs associated with the ownership of personal auto, including insurance costs, petroleum, and maintenance of the car. To be specific, the National Community of Drivers calculated the amount of money needed to cover the costs of driving and published their findings. The results of the research clearly demonstrate that the real costs of ownership of a car are unseen for a buyer and may exceed the price of a car. For example, the new car may cost five thousand dollars while the costs of maintenance could be as much as fifty percent of the price of a car per year. The practice of accurate cost accounting will eventually boost the tendency of reduction in the number of cars on the road.

All in all, the ownership of an own car has both its positive and negative side effects. The car may act as a comfortable driving tool. At the same time, excessive driving may foster the development of pollution in large cities.