In universities, people tend to concern more about the career prospect of the subjects they learn. Some people propose that students should learn subjects with a fast job growth including math, science, technology, and engineering even if they are interested in other subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

Under the current system of higher education, with the majors becoming increasingly diverse, how to choose an appropriate major has never failed to attract the attention of the general public. Most parents strongly recommend that it is much better to choose a major which can guarantee a good job, while college students, the receiver of higher education, tend to choose the field which caters to their interest.

As far as I am concerned, the latter viewpoint is more reasonable, with the reasons listed below. First of all, selecting the major that students like can help them to grasp the knowledge better. Just as a saying goes, interest is the best teacher, which is true for undergraduates. To illustrate, under the drive of interest, students are more likely to automatically devote more time and energy into what they major in, thus definitely having a better command of professional knowledge and skills imparted by teachers. By contrast, without any interest in what they are taught, college students who generally lack in self-motivation may do anything but study in class. For instance, on campus in China, it is not uncommon to see that many students squander their valuable time by taking a nap, whispering or even playing smart phones while attending the class. What’s worse, some of them may even skip classes. The reason underlying the above phenomenon is nothing but the lack of passion for what they learn.

Secondly, choosing a major which students are interested in can do a better job in helping them secure a good job. As we all know, with the constant change and progress of society, the job market is also changing quickly. In other words, some promising industries a few years ago might very well become obsolete, which means that the major one chooses cannot necessarily guarantee a good job. By contrast, under such a society full of fierce competition, it is the professional skills and abilities people own that play the key role in landing a decent job. Obviously, only when people select the field they have passion for can they establish a solid foundation of specific knowledge and skills in this field. Therefore, the major catering to one’s interest can better improve his or her competence, thus increasing their likelihood of securing a decent job.

Taking all the above into consideration, we can draw the conclusion that choosing the major which interests students is much better, in terms of making undergraduates have a better command of what they major in and find a suitable job.