A university plans to develop a new research center in your country. Some people want a center for business research. Other people want a center for research in agriculture. Which of these two kinds of research centers do you recommend for your country?

Upon the above question, different people have different opinions based on their cultures and nationalities. From my point of view, establishing a new research center for agriculture is more important than building a center for business research. Although each option has its unique advantages, the benefits of a center for research in agriculture outweigh the benefits of a business center. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First and foremost, food production is the most significant issue not only in my country but also in all over the world. No one can deny the importance of food for our survival because it plays an important role in our lives after air and water. Besides, my country is located between deserts and drought is a major problem in my country. So that building a new center for research in agriculture where farmers learn how to manage water resources is necessary.

In the second place, a new research center for agriculture will provide farmers with the most advanced tools and techniques for farming so they can produce more food for people. Furthermore, in this center, researchers can manipulate the genome of strategic plants such as wheat, rice and corn to make new plants with better characteristics. These new plants are more resistant to drought, diseases, pesticides and so forth. According to the latest researches which were published in well-known journals, genetically modified foods have more essential nutrients for people and children who consume them regularly are less prone to various ailments.

Last but not least, I think improvements in agriculture has positive effects on our economy. Currently, most foods are imported from other countries and advances in agriculture will save a huge amount of money.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account, it can be concluded that developing a new research center for agriculture is more important than establishing a business center based on the reasons which I outlined above.