What is a very important skill a person should learn in order to be successful in the world today? Choose one skill and use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

President Abraham Lincoln said, “The best way to predict the future is to crease it.”

It is true that if individuals want to succeed in the future, they need to learn new important skills. Nowadays, there are a variety of important skills, such as self-management, networking or solid decision-making, which people should learn to be successful. However, the most important skills people need to learn to achieve their achievements in the competitive world is communication skill because this helps people to build new relationships easier, maintain relationships longer, and work more effectively.

The first reason why good communication helps individuals to be successful is they can build new relationships easily. To be specific, strong communication skills help people to become confident talking to strangers and making new friends, and their friends can support and help them in study or work, which makes it easier for them to be successful in their lives. Taking my friend as an example, Ly is an introvert, and she used to be scared to meet strangers. However, after studying communication skills, she became more extroverted, and she has made new relationships everywhere. Therefore, she has learnt a lot of useful experience from her friends, and now she is a successful CEO.

Maintaining relationships is another reason why effective communication helps people to succeed. In other words, when people have effective communication, and they can explain their ideas or opinions clearly, so listeners do not get confused. This helps them to understand and believe in each other, which leads to good and stable relationships. As a result, people keep in touch and continue to study and work together in the future which might result in success. For instance, insurance agents are usually able to communicate effectively. They have to have good communication skills, so they can convince costumers to buy insurance and make them believe in the benefits of their company. Therefore, customers keep in contact with their company, which make successful for insurance agents. However, this is not the most important skill people should learn to be successful in today’s society.

Finally, communication skills help people to succeed because individuals who equip themselves with good communication skills usually work more effectively. It is true that when people study communication skills, they can use verbal skills and body language to communicate very well. Therefore, it is easy for people to communicate with their co-workers or customers who cannot speak the same language. Furthermore, studying communication skill, especially body language helps people to present their ideas more clearly and attract audiences’ attention. For example, I presented a presentation about global warming last month, and I used body language and kept eyes contact with my classmates during the present. As a result, my classmates felt excited and paid attention to my presentation, and they asked me questions. That made my presentation successful.

In conclusion, to succeed in the world today, individuals need to have a lot of different skills. However, one of the most important skills is communication skills because this helps people to be more outgoing and make new friend easily, so they can learn a lot of things from their friends and become more successful in their lives. Effective communication not only helps people to keep their relationships longer, but also helps them to work more effectively.