When you make a presentation, which method do you think is better to help you find weaknesses and improve your presentation skills?

1) record the presentation and watch the video by yourself

2) ask others for advice

Sometimes preparing for a presentation takes a lot of effort, and sometimes we even need others’ help to finish a perfect speech. Some people need to practice for thousands of times to make sure there is nothing wrong with the draft, and in order to check the performance, they tend to record the presentation and watch the video themselves. However, I prefer another way— to ask others for advice. Reasons for it would be stated in the following paragraphs.

First of all, asking others offers a different perspective for us. Generally speaking, we always tend to appreciate what we’ve created, especially for things like essays, speech drafts and so on. With the mysterious filter on our articles, it’s difficult for us to find out what our true level is. For example, when we write an article, we tend to write it in the way that we think is the best. However, it’s likely that from other’s perspective, it has some problems with logic linking. After all, since we are giving presentation to others, which means our performance is mean to be judged by others. Thinking about this, it is natural that we should ask for other people’s advice about our presentation.

Additionally, others could provide help with knowledge that we ourselves are lack of. We all are people with limited ration in our mind, which means we are not capable to think about everything comprehensively and we definitely have things unknown. If we could ask others for advice, they could teach us things that we don’t know. For instance, when I was in high school, I wrote a draft for a presentation about insistence. When I was suffering giving theoretic support but had nothing in my head, I asked one of be classmates for help. She was good at stating things in a logical way, and with her help, I finished my presentation perfectly, presenting a convincing statement that I originally confused about.

Admittedly, recording the presentation and watch it could be a good way to find out where doesn’t feel right to some extent. As far as I’m concerned, however, it really takes a lot of time, since you have to replay your whole presentation, which might take ten minutes or more. Also, it is likely that you have nothing corrected because you don’t know what’s going wrong, as you are thinking in your own way.

Accordingly, I believe that asking others for advice would be a more efficient way to prepare for a presentation.