When you visit a strange city,guided tour or explore by yourself.

Currently, with the accumulation of material affluence, an increasing number of city dwellers are capable of affording trips to diversified places. Hence, it comes to the question that should we participate in a guided tour or explore the destination by ourselves. Personally speaking, I prefer to have a self-guided tour and my preference can be substantiated as follows.

To start with, it is more convenient to travel by myself. Nowadays, people are suffering from mounting pressure generated from excessive workload and depressed social network, thus traveling all by myself not only enables me to avoid the needless social interaction between participants from all walks of life but also guarantees that I can fully immerse myself with the local cultural ambiance, which contributes to my whole rejuvenation. Meanwhile, in a guided tour, people usually tend to wake up early and go back to the restaurant late at night to pay visits to all sightseeings the traveling agency plan to visit, which does make participants feel exhausted and fail to achieve their goals of refreshing themselves. Compared to the guided tour, in the self-guided tour, I can schedule my plan based on the information I amass from online forums, including which restaurant should I book, which sightseeing is worthy of visiting and so on. By taking consideration of all these listed stuff, I am capable of arranging my trip so as to ensure this trip rejuvenates myself instead of making me exhausted.

What’s more, directing the tour by myself is more economical. Currently, with the unprecedented boom the tourism has witnessed, some travel agencies, at the aim of reaping profits, tend to guide tourists to some local markets to persuade, or even force them to purchase something needless, which does cut in their budgets. In addition, during the guided tour, since the trip is beyond our control, we cannot avoid spending extra money in some places of interests that we are not fond of. Conversely, in the self-guided tour, through my pre-trip plan, I can save a lot of cost by considering varieties of factors, like making a reservation of restaurants in advance, booking tickets to well-known sightseeing worthy of paying a visit or arranging the best travel routine to save extra time and fees spent on traveling. By doing all these listed above, I can save lots of money, which can be distributed to purchase a bunch of souvenirs or upgrade the experience of traveling.

Admittedly, taking part in a guided tour renders us a trip without any consideration before the trip, for instance, it enables us to get rid of the process of searching for information or booking tickets. Nevertheless, these perks are outshone by advantages of a self-guided tour, since this kind of convenience is likely to offer us the unpleasant experience of traveling after starting the trips.

In a nutshell, due to the convenience and lower cost of a self-guided trip, I would like to reiterate my opinion that visiting a strange city by myself is the optimal option for me to make me relaxed in my limited budget.