When your professor wants you to learn in a short time which is better working in a group or alone

Learning, the founding stone of one’s academic achievement, has been valued and even triggers a heated discussion over how to learn a subject in a short time. In other’s view, students should work alone to grasp things quickly. Contrary to these people’s opinions is my perspective that learning in a group would benefit students, due to the contribution to the efficiency.

What should be prioritized is that by studying in a group rather than in solitary learning, students can access the group members’ knowledge base, accelerating the learning process. To begin with, by studying with a group of friends, we can have in-depth discussions by exchanging thoughts from different angles. Such academic communication is conducive for students to have deep insight into others’ ideas and correct biases. To be specific, friends and classmates, who have already mastered the topic, are able to introduce and explain the elusive concepts to us in an accessible way. That means they can better elucidate the sophisticated materials to us in a straightforward fashion and we can master the thesis quickly. In addition, in such a conversation, our prejudice could be corrected timely by our friends when we express our biased perspectives. Therefore, group learning is a catalyst for our learning process. On the other hand, if we study in a solitary manner, we may be restricted by our limited thoughts, and we may struggle with certain comprehensive concepts for a long time because nobody reaches out to us, which decelerates our learning progress.

What should be equally worth discussing is that learning with classmates or friends, instead of learning alone, will boost efficiency and help us mater a subject in a short time, by facilitating us to concentrate on the field of study. In collective learning, the interaction among the group members prevents them from getting distracted. To be specific, we usually discuss certain problems, share thoughts, and respond to others’ ideas. What’s more, there may be some serious peers, who are strict in the timetable, to motivate us. Under this scenario, we are naturally motivated to contemplate the subjects, so we are less likely to shift our attention to unrelated things. On the contrary, in solitary learning, we do not have external factors to help us keep focused, and thus we are more possibly to lose our focus.

Indeed, studying alone may seem to help us retain minimal distractions. It is because we can review the materials in a quiet place, where nobody is moving around and talking with you. In this scenario, we are less possibly to get distracted. However, distractions may also be triggered by solitary study. In detail, we may spend a great deal of time puzzling over the issues we have come up against, which stretches our attention span. Being forced to elongate our attention, we will get distracted.

To conclude, only by learning in groups, instead of studying alone, can we reap the maximum benefits.