Which of the following activities do you think will be the most beneficial to the environment? (1) Commute by biking or walking (2) Recycling (3) Eating a vegan diet

Along with the progress of human civilization and the complexity of society, human exploitation of the environment has caused much pollution, and now it is unavoidable to consider activities that could aid the environment. Thus, recently, a debate about which activities are most beneficial to the environment: commuting by biking or walking, recycling, or eating a vegan diet. Logically, people who grew up in diverse environments would certainly maintain various understandings of such an issue, but according to my rationale, recycling is an activity that is most advantageous to the environment. With intensive considerations, numerous bases are divulged to support the claim.

First of all, a lot of pollution is produced during the production of the product. With the advent of the Industrial Revolution, a variety of products are produced at an unprecedented speed and quantity. From this development, mankind benefited a lot, such as technical progression, and the overall quality of people's life. However, nature suffered a lot, because lots of pollution were formed by the production of products. An example of this situation could be observed in the production of plastic cups. Plastic cups are one of the products that are widely and frequently used around the world. The production of plastic cups creates air pollution from the factory and by-products such as chemical leftovers that cause water pollution. Yet, this problem can be alleviated through recycling. Recycling a product reduces the number of products being used and thrown away, therefore the industry does not have to produce more new products to meet the demand. Ultimately, as the production of new plastic cups reduces, the overall pollution created from processing plastic cups reduces.

On top of that, recycling reduces the amount of trash that is harmful to the environment, especially in the ecosystem. To be specific, due to the excessive trash, people dispose of those trash in the environment. As a consequence, many animals around the globe are suffering from the excessive trash disposed on their habitat. One typical example of this problem can be seen in the habitat of marine animals. Marine animals suffer from the waste created by humans, especially plastic products. These plastics harm marine animals in a variety of ways. One such way is that sea creatures tend to consider plastic products as their prey and consume them, and it is a serious problem since ingesting plastic products kills those animals. However, this kind of problem could be solved by recycling the products. By doing so, the number of waste products will reduce, therefore preventing waste from going to the place where it should not be in the environment.

In conclusion, from the above substantiation and assessments, it seems plausible to say that recycling is the activity that is most beneficial among the choices. Not only is recycling can reduce the pollution made by producing the products, but also, it can reduce the amount of trash that harms the ecosystem. Therefore, nothing in my mind regarding the previous issue overshadows the ideas stated above.