Which is the most important thing for a country’s leader to assure the prosperity of a country?

A. Create more jobs

B. Increase agricultural production and lower food prices

C. Increase access to affordable houses.

Due to budgetary constraints, choices of governmental spending are limited, which requires national leaders to carefully plan whether to invest in the industry, agriculture or social services. My personal belief is that the government should invest more in creating jobs. Not only will it stimulate national economy, it will achieve this result inexpensively and effectively.

First and foremost, creating jobs for the unemployed will stimulate national economy. When the employment rate is low, consumption of consumer goods will be small, as a result of which production will be slowed down. Thus, if the government provides paid-jobs to the unemployed, economic development will be accelerated. Economic progress had been slow for decades in Chinese mountainous rural areas. To improve local economy, the government hired local people as construction workers in public facility building projects, such as roads, factories, and hospitals. As these projects came to a conclusion in the 2000s, not only did local people have greater buying power for goods imported from outside regions, but also these facilities made exchange with outside regions more convenient. As economic exchange took place, local economic condition greatly improved.

Furthermore, while building affordable houses also lessen economic pressure, it is much more costly than creating jobs. In contemporary society, housing price is high because land price has risen rapidly. If the government wants to provide cheap housing to the poor, it must buy high-priced land on a national scale, which adds to its financial pressure. Furthermore, it must also pay the salaries of engineers, construction workers, and the maintenance. Ordinary real estate developers can reap the profit from these investments by selling or renting houses at profitable prices, but the government cannot. In comparison, if the government chooses to create more jobs for the unemployed, it can make a small profit by selling the products manufactured in the factories or the services provided by these employees. Therefore, it is a much less expensive way to improve national economy.

Lastly, compared to increasing agricultural production, investing in the industry is a less time-consuming method to improve the economy. It takes at least one year to grow more food. In addition, bad harvest may occur due to environmental pollution or natural disasters, which prolongs this process. Furthermore, to actually lower food prices, the government has to increase agricultural production on a national scale, which can take up to decades. By contrast, once the workers get a small salary, consumption and production can be accelerated, and the government can use the profit to hire more unemployed to further economic progress. As such, it guarantees quicker results.

In conclusion, not only does providing jobs for the unemployed guarantees economic development, it is the quicker and cheaper method when compared to the other two. As such, it is my staunch belief that the governments should choose this method.