Agree or disagree: the way people dress is a good indication of their personality.

Modern society allows many different ways of self-expression, amongst which is a person’s dressing style. Many people believe that dressing style is one of the most reliable ways to understand one’s personality. Personally, I think whether we can tell a person’s character depends on the specific situation considered.

On the one hand, if one has a choice over what he or she wears, dressing style can reveal his or her personality. Unsurprisingly, people dress according to their preference, or choose the style that makes them the most comfortable. For instance, people who are naturally energetic and athletic, such as my brother, usually refer casual and sports-like clothes. As he is always running around or playing balls, he chooses sports jackets that do not restrict him and allow him to move freely.

However, it should not be forgotten that, in many cases, our dressing styles are determined by rules or specific occasions. If we all dress alike, our dressing style cannot show our personalities. For example, many schools nowadays require students to wear uniforms which are usually suit-like, or sweater-like clothes. Each school chooses a style that shows the characteristics of the school, rather than their students, which means that we see little of students’ individuality. 丨Likewise, when we work in offices, we must wear business suits which are usually dark-colored and formal clothes. These clothes are designed to give a sense of seriousness and efficiency, whatever our real personalities are like. These cases show that, sometimes, our dressing style only reflect the requirements of the occasions, and not our personality.

In conclusion, it is true that our personalities influence how we choose our clothes. In these cases, one’s dressing style shows his or her personality. However, there are situations where we cannot decide what to wear. In these cases, dressing styles reflect rules of society or requirements of the occasion, not one’s personality.