Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Parents are spending less time with family due to mounting competitive pressure in contemporary society, which prompts rethinking on the most effective way to improve parent-children relationship. While others may reasonably believe that helping children with schoolwork is a good method because it improves learning efficiency, I am convinced that parents should spend more time playing with children. Not only does it enhance family relationship, it also improves children’s physical condition.

There is no denying that doing school assignments with children can improve their learning efficiency. Parents are more educated and more knowledgeable than their children, which means that they can impart on their children effective learning methods or more effective ways of solving problems. That being said, it must be emphasized that it is not obtaining knowledge, but the ability to learn and to analyze, that is the ultimate goal of education. Only by thinking and researching on their own can children understand knowledge thoroughly, which means that they should finish homework unassisted, even if it takes a long time.

Furthermore, playing with children can also improve family relationship. Nowadays parents are often too over-worked to spend time with their children, as a result of which both parties find few common interests. Playing with children provides an effective remedy to said problem. For young children, it is a good opportunity to spend time doing something they like with their parents; for parents, it is a good chance to communicate with their children. In many large cities, such as Beijing, Shanghai, and Guangzhou, companies are setting up “courses” where parents can play games with young children under the supervision of experts in child-rearing. They are given chances to participate in group competition which both interest them and provide opportunities where they must exchange strategies and collaborate, thus binding them close together.

Last but not least, doing sports has the additional benefit of enhancing children’s physical condition. Childhood is a period when people develop physical characters, which requires a lot of physical exercise. By playing with children, parents can ensure that they do not spend time on other distractions, such as TV and video games. I often went swimming with my father when I was younger. I don’t enjoy playing sports, preferring to listen to music or to play video games. Because my father forced me to swim regularly every week, it became one of my habits and I gradually went voluntarily, summer and winter. As such, it became one of my few opportunities to exercise.

In conclusion, while doing homework with children is a good bonding mechanism, it has, as I demonstrated, its shortcoming. On the other hand, playing with children has the double benefits of improving parent-children relationship and strengthening children’s physical health. As such, it’s my belief that parents should play games or do sports with their children.