1- Which one do you prefer? Why?

– a company offering you a job with challenging and interesting projects but less vacation days or

– another company offering you a job that is not so challenging and interesting but has more vacation days.

Working life is the most important part of each adult's life. There are several aspects that should be considered carefully before attaining a job position. Two important factors affecting the quality of working life are the extent to which a job is rewarding and the number of vacation days that are allowed by the employer. Even though some people believe that the allowed vacation's duration is much more important than interesting projects because of the more time they can relax and have fun with their beloved ones, others like me stick to the opinion that challenging job positions are more profitable because of two following reasons.

First, challenging jobs let people progress rapidly. There is a direct relationship between an individual's real experiences and challenges faced by him at work. In other words, the more challenges, the faster progress. For example, I worked for a computer company. There were always many challenging projects on board. We were rewarded based on how much we could develop a project. Regarding the importance of projects and the time we should have dedicated to finish them, we often couldn't go on vacation. Sometimes, we got tired but as the projects were so interesting and thought-provoking, so that we were inundated by them, we were not aware of passing time. After just six months, I realized that my experiences have been significantly more than many of my friends who were working for a company with many vacation days and less interesting projects. Were it not for the interesting projects and challenging work, I couldn't progress so fast to attain a job position as a developing manager in a famous company just with one-year working experience.

Second, challenging jobs teach you a lot. They are not just universities and colleges where people can learn new things. Issues are so different when they come from words and formulas in academic books into practical work. The more challenging projects, the better opportunity for an individual to expand his knowledge. For example, we had a lot of courses in programming when I was studying software engineering at university. After graduation, I thought that I knew everything about programming and I was ready to start my job as an expert programmer. It didn't last more than the first week of my job at a company with a lot of challenging projects. It was there that I found out that in practical works, experience is the first priority to learn deeply. At first, I was not able to deal with problems and difficulties, but as they were so fascinating, I picked up my pace and could handle it very soon. During the process of troubleshooting, I learned many things that I had never heard or read about before. My first working experience taught me a lot even more than academic courses. If I had started my job in a company with ordinary, boring projects with just long vacation days, I would not have understood my shortcomings in programming.

To sum up, not only does a rewarding job with challenging projects accelerate one's working progress, but also it educates them better than universities. People should be aware of the fact that if they want to be successful in their career and have a say in their community, they should take a rewarding job not the one that allows them to go on long vacations.