Which one do you think is the most important factor for a student to succeed at college or university?

1. Tutors in university.

2. The encouragement from family and friends.

3. High-quality education from high school.

There is no doubt that nowadays universities play a key role in people's lives. No one can deny the direct and indirect effects of universities. It is a no-brainer that a qualified university can help students climb the ladder of success and become prosperous in their future professional lives. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that encouragements from family and friends are a key factor for a person to succeed at university. Some others, however, may take the opposite viewpoint and believe that other factors such as acceptable education in high school or tutors in the university are more important. From my own perspective, the first belief is true. I hold this because of two reasons that I will explore in the following essay.

The first reason coming to mind to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that encouragement by significant others can motivate a person especially when there are myriads of difficulties. It goes without saying that every person needs social supports and students are not the exception to the fact. We are social animals, so a basic motivator for every person is individuals around him. This can be too momentous when something bad is about to happen or when a person gets disappointed. In this situation, he needs a person to calm him and instigate him, give him a hope to continue and do not give up. Needless to say, the university has a lot of challenges and stressful situations, which person have to face and cope with them, so to become prosperous, he needs social supports a lot. To shed light on this issue, when I was in university, my thesis that did not go on well. I lost my hope and even decided to quit the university, but my close friend encouraged me to continue. His motivations instigated me to go ahead and after two years, my thesis got ready and I passed my thesis with a great grade. Had my friend not incentivized me, I would not have become successful in my thesis.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that encouragement boosts self-efficacy. As Albert Bandura-one of most well-known psychologists of the world- asserts, verbal encouragement can increase persons' self-confidence and self-efficacy. Needless to say, to become successful we need to become a confidant person. With a low self-efficacy, human doubts about his talents. He thinks that he cannot do university assignments appropriate, so he cannot progress. Even if he has a talent in that major, because he has a negative self-appraisal, he will not become successful. Significant others give a person an assertiveness to advance, so I think without these social supports and encouragement, students will never succeed.

To make a long story short, all the aforementioned above lead us to the conclusion that encouragement by significant others has a lot of benefits that outweigh the benefits of other factors, due to the fact that these motivations can instigate students and elevate their self-efficacy. It is recommended that to foster a prosperous person, parents encourage their children from their infancy.