Which one do you think is the most important factor for a student to succeed at college or university Tutors in university The encouragement from family and friends High quality education from high school

Without a shadow of a doubt, education plays a pivotal role in personal and social development. An unanswered question in this area is which factor is the most critical for college students’ success. However, the arguments asserting that parents and friends can boost students’ enthusiasm guaranteeing finishing university successfully, I believe otherwise, maintaining that academic achievement is closely linked to the quality of secondary schools. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

The first exquisite point corroborating my stance on this subject is that high schools build a foundation for students' higher education. Generally, academic institutions suppose students understand their former courses, so considerable time and energy are not allocated to review them. In this condition, if students passed their studies at a poor-quality school, they must solve their previous educational problems alone. As a consequence, they should sacrifice their spare time to follow subjects taught in their class. Insufficient recreation, along with the overwhelming workload of university assignments, will plant the seeds of frustration and disappointment. Therefore, pupils’ interest and motivation are reduced, and students consider abandoning university. One survey conducted in my university revealed that more than thirty percent of students having experienced academic dismissal attribute their failure to inferior high school classes.

Another motive to be mentioned is that those students who received misleading information from their schools are more likely to choose the wrong major that does not fit their interests and abilities. High school curriculums must include varied topics so students can evaluate their strengths and weaknesses in a wide range of fields. But some high school teachers deliberately or unintentionally neglect the importance of courses and glorify a limited range of matters like math and physics. Accordingly, many students cannot find their interests and continue the wrong path under the pressure of their families and mentors. For example, had my parents not enrolled my brother at an excellent secondary school that valued art, he would not have attained an architecture degree.

Reflecting upon the grounds mentioned above, one soon realizes that parents should select appreciate high schools for their children to flourish and succeed in their future academic life.