Sometimes filmmakers make movies that are based on books When a movie is based on a book some people prefer to read the book before watching the movie Other people prefer to read the book only after they have watched the movie Which do you prefer and why

Recently, some filmmakers have been influenced by painters and writers and represent their ideas through charming movies. There is an unanswered question among book lovers whether they read books before watching the relevant films or vice versa. As far as I am concerned, I prefer to allocate my time to read the story in a book in advance and then watching a movie inspired by it. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

The first exquisite point corroborating my stance on this subject is that given that the actual creators of stories are writers and filmmakers only show their own interpretation of books, it is better to read books first. Sometimes the author of a story or novel had been dead some centuries ago, or they live in some remote areas. So, the film producers do not access them to ask for some details or misunderstandings. Furthermore, some directors intentionally change some parts of stories or points based on their thought to attract or surprise their audiences. For instance, the directors of the TV series Game of Thrones modified actual events of the novel in some seasons deliberately to either maintain some characters or remove them. Therefore, if people watch the movie earlier, they will not specify the modification of the films.

Another reason to be mentioned is that if someone sees a film that does not develop a book well, they will not read that book; however, the book is impressive and valuable. There are some reasons for these unsuccessful movies that the film producers spent exorbitant expenses for them. All narratives are not suited for making a bestselling product of the film industry because the translation from a reading medium to a visual medium takes people the opportunity to imagine the characters in mind. The filmmaker would not be ingenious like the writer and cannot choose the right actors and employ creative techniques. As a result, the films do not entertain viewers as well as the books do.

Reflecting upon all motives mentioned above, one soon realizes why we should read books before looking at the visual forms.