Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are a plethora of reasons why students choose to attend university in this day and age. Some people consider college as a challenge and others take it as a new experience. In my opinion, I think people attend school primarily to obtain knowledge in various subjects mainly. Although their main purpose is to acquire knowledge, they also want to excel in interpersonal skills and to achieve a good career in the future.

First of all, knowledge can be attained by various ways. A college or university is the best place where one can gain knowledge and become valuable to society. Schools have expert teachers in different fields, and students can understand a particular course comprehensively from them. My own experience is a good example of this, I have been reading several books on historical events. Nonetheless, I have not a much clear concept about those events. But when I taught about those events in my history class, my teacher explains the different dynamics of those historical events. As you can see I understand much more clearly with my teacher than I did while studying on my own and I gain a good knowledge.

Furthermore, interacting with new people is always a challenge. Studying in the college make students having an opportunity to live with other students and learn how to cooperate with other people. For example, students will have a chance to get information about different cultures, different lifestyles and certain types of food is shared among students. I used to study at a university that has a good diversity of students, so I learned how to care and understand people from different culture.

Moreover, developing a career is a very important stage in our life. Most students after graduating from high schools, go to universities or college to be trained and educated. Some major in various subjects while others go for professional degrees. Universities help students in achieving their goal by preparing them for the career they have picked. If I go to a medical school, I know that the school will prepare me well enough to become a successful medical doctor.

In conclusion, I believe that young people choose to enroll in post-secondary education mostly in order to acquire more knowledge, to know how to interact with people. In addition, people go to schools because it is very important for their future work and life.